Monroe - Main Campus

Monroe is the eighth-largest city in the State of Louisiana and also serves as the parish seat of Ouachita Parish. Formerly known as Fort Miro, when it existed as a settlement, the name Monroe was adopted in recognition of the steam-powered paddle-wheeler, James Monroe. The ship’s arrival had a profound effect on the settlers. It was, perhaps, the single event in the minds of local residents that transformed the outpost into a town. Monroe is home to a variety of wonderful venues including the Louisiana Purchase Gardens & Zoo, the Biedenharn Museum and Gardens (former home of Joseph A. Biedenharn, the first bottler of Coca-Cola), and the birthplace of Delta Airlines and CenturyTel (now CenturyLink). Monroe is also proud to host the annual Miss Louisiana pageant. Population in Monroe is right at 49,000.

The Louisiana Delta Community College-Monroe campus serves as the main campus in the college’s 2100-square-mile jurisdiction. The campus is visible and easily accessible from Interstate 20. The campus was newly constructed in 2009-2010 and became the first permanent home for the College. The campus boasts a main building housing four floors, which includes a nursing lab, science labs, distance learning classrooms, theatre, child care lab, conference rooms, commons area, and an eatery. Adjacent to the main building sits the most advanced manufacturing training facility in the state –The Advanced Technology Center. It houses a bay area, a forensic science lab and a police academy.