Skip to Main Content

LDCC launches staff senate to address employee needs and enhance engagement

LDCC launches staff senate to address employee needs and enhance engagement

Northeast Louisiana – Louisiana Delta Community College is making history with the establishment of its inaugural staff senate. Comprising elected representatives, this body will serve as a voice for non-faculty, non-administrative employees. The creation of the Senate underscores LDCC's commitment to amplifying staff voices and fostering a more cohesive and supportive work environment, enabling collective achievement of staff objectives.

The administration's proactive stance in addressing staff concerns has driven the implementation of the staff senate at LDCC. Julie Salter, who was recently elected as the Staff Senate Chair while also serving as the LDCC Career and Job Placement Specialist, illuminates the rationale behind this initiative. "Staff members have expressed the need to feel heard, and the administration recognizes the importance of listening to our staff," Salter affirms. "Establishing this representation for staff members will help bridge the communication gap between staff and administration."

The Staff Senate’s primary objectives are to enhance staff engagement and strengthen interconnectivity within the college. Research by James A.R. Savery (2020) indicates that initiatives encouraging employee participation, such as staff senates, positively impact organizational performance and workplace culture. Salter contextualizes significant factors at play: “In the ever-changing world of higher education, especially after the pandemic, the staff senate plays a crucial role in supporting our employees. It aims to build a strong work environment and improve our assistance for students in college.”

The following are the results from the first election of the staff senate: Chair: Julie Salter, Secretary: Hannah Rahn, At-large Senators: Eric Gunter and Mary Peterson, West Monroe Senator: Sharon Waggoner, Bastrop Senator: Marquita King, Ruston/Jonesboro Senator: Nadja Haynie, Winnsboro Senator: Jodie Cooper, Tallulah/LP Senator: Whitni Smith, Monroe Senators: Cheranda Bridges and Camryn Price.

Upcoming Events

April 29

Spring 2024- Final Exams Days

Start: Apr 29, 2024 End: May 3, 2024

Multi-Day Event

April 30

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.

More Information